Handy tip for reducing food waste.

I’m sure I’m probably not the first to come up with this idea and indeed it has probably entered my subconscious while reading it elsewhere but I was very pleased with the results so I will share anyway. Don’t get too excited, remember I am a person of simple pleasures.

So what I did was… I had a bag of onions and I realised I wasn’t going to use them all before they spoiled so I prepared the whole bag by finely chopping them all in one sitting and have put them in the freezer. So now when I need onions for a recipe they are ready to go straight into the pot. This works brilliantly and better still none of the onions went to waste by spoiling. Win, win!
Frozen chopped onions

One thought on “Handy tip for reducing food waste.

  1. You said don’t get too excited. I’m afraid I may have done. I truly had not thought about chopping them all and freezing them. But I may now do this. I keep my onions in the fridge for storing and for some reason they seem to last for MONTHS in there. (Something I worrying found out in my first year being a student). Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

