The little things will make a big difference…I hope!

I find it is very easy to forget the little things that I am doing on a day to day basis that are following my new frugal life ethos.  More importantly things that I wouldn’t have done, and didn’t do, before I started my frugal journey.  So in an effort to appreciate the little things and focus my mind – I’ve made a list!  Hopefully the little things will start to make a big difference.

– Using an old cotton vest of my daughter’s as a dish cloth
 
– Pack snacks and drinks for 8 hour car journey rather than stopping at Roadside Services. Unfortunately we discovered our thermos leaks. Oops!
 
– For a quick supper – homemade pizza, rather than using the pre-made pizza bases I use toasted tortilla wraps that we have in for my daughter’s lunch box.  I know I could make proper pizza bases myself but I’m not there yet and the tortilla wraps are so quick and easy.  As the attached photo demonstrates they make a great light pizza. This one has chicken, tomato, pepper and cheese. A thin spread of tomato purée on the base then pile up the bits, my 5 year old daughter loves doing this step herself and then melt under the grill.
 
– Any stale bread gets made into breadcrumbs and then used to make chicken schnitzel and chicken nuggets. On the look out for other recipes all the time.
 
– Used bicarbonate of soda to clean burnt on grime off oven grill trays instead of the really smelly oven cleaner.
 
– Turned the heat down in the house and kept my jumper and wooly boots on instead.
 
– Gratefully accept hand-me-down clothes for my daughter from friends and family.
 
 
 
 Image
2 thoughts on “The little things will make a big difference…I hope!

    • Absolutely! I’ve perfected the technique now. I toast the wraps both sides briefly under the grill, pile the topping on and then under the grill again to melt cheese and heat through and done. Healthy and quick. Perfect!

Leave a Reply

